Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

Eagle Award for First-Year Writers

The Emory Writing Program awards one winner a $400 Prize and a runner up a $100 Prize for the best work in an Emory First-Year Writing course! The judges' panel is comprised of Faculty on both Atlanta and Oxford campuses. Up to four runners-up will also be selected and recognized with smaller cash awards. All awardees will be introduced at the English and Creative Writing Departments’ annual Awards Night.

Any major project composed in ENG 101, ENG 181, CPLT 110, or OX185 is eligible. EWP and Oxford instructors may enter two projects per section taught. Eagle-recognized projects are posted here and we hope they will be featured for use as exemplary compositions in Atlanta and Oxford classrooms.

Submissions for next year’s Eagle Award open in December 2019, and the deadline for entries will be in early January 2020.

Contact Eagle Award coordinator Daniel Bosch ( for further information. Happy reading and better writing!

2020 Eagle Awards

  • Eagle Winner: Trinity Tunstall (Atlanta campus) for the autoethnography in comic form: "Learning Language: Literacy Narrative."
  • Runner Up: Kelly Martinez (Atlanta campus), for the Op-Ed article "Why Elite Public High Schools Fail: Words From Outside Stuyvesant."
  • Runner Up: Faith Ford (Oxford campus), for the autoethnography "Cultural Imposter Syndrome"
  • Honorable Mention: Aayra Aamer (Atlanta campus), for the critical lens essay "Documenting the Truth: History Through a Lens."
  • Honorable Mention: Katie Balderson (Oxford campus), for the comparison essay "The Rhetoric of Glacial Melting: Scientific Literature Versus Popular Science."

2019 Eagle Awards

  • Eagle Winner: Kate Appel (2022), for the essay: "Defining Patti Smith as Punk."
  • Runner Up: Will Johnson (2022), for the essay: "Coping With Reality in Never Let Me Go: Narrative, Memory, and Art."
  • Runner Up: Ann Sinsuan (2022), for the multimodal literacy narrative: "A Key Experience: I think I have a story to tell."
  • Runner Up: Sarah Swiderski (2022), for the multimodal literacy narrative: "The Utilization of Comics to Establish Fluidity in Emotional Development."